Parliament

Hey guys, it’s Leaf checking back in with my adventures in Sverige.  This past week, I was fortunate enough to visit parliament with my host mother who shall remain nameless.  She is a member of Swedish parliament, so I got an in-depth tour of the Parliament grounds. We started the tour by entering the parliament chamber. This is where parliament members sit and attend meetings.  Parliament holds 349 members who sit according to their constituency rather than party.  During debates, the seats have voting buttons where members can choose yes, no, or abstain.  There is an inner circle that seats members depending on their tenure and for debates. I found the seating arrangement interesting because opposing party members could sit next to each other, and I’d imagine this would create friction.  I saw one desk where a Vänsterpartiet member sat next to a Sverigedemokraterna member which would compare to Alexandria Ocasio Cortez sitting next to Ted Cruz. I suppose Swedes must remain amicable in the name of politics haha. 

After that, we visited the west wing of Parliament which hosts party meetings.  We also visited the conference room where the media speaks with parliament members.  It was fascinating seeing the room with my very eyes because I’m accustomed to seeing members holding press conferences on TV. Underneath the parliament building, there is an underground pathway that connects the offices in Gamla Stan and Parliament.  My host mom said they call the bridge connecting the islands the “running bridge” because there is a 20-minute siren before a debate/meeting, as you will typically see members scrambling and running to the Chamber.  I thought it was a unique insight that humanized politicians. Although they are powerful politicians running the country, they still can be late to meetings. 

I also visited the National Museum which featured a lovely display of paintings, sculptures, and miscellaneous artwork.  There was a breathtaking mural on the top floor that I needed to capture.  I highly recommend the museum if you like to stroll around and enjoy a cozy atmosphere.  It’s also free which was the cherry on top!  

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started